Przemek Karnowski To Give Up 2-Point Shots For Lent

Przem 1

Przemek Karnowski, Gonzaga’s starting center, has vowed to give up 2-point shots until April 2 

GONZAGA UNIVERSITY, SPOKANE, WA– Gonzaga’s starting center, Przemek Karnowski, told reporters on Tuesday that he is giving up 2-point shots for the duration of Lent.

Lent, in the Christian tradition, is a period of about 5 weeks prior to Easter that Christians use to prepare themselves for the holiday. This year, Lent ranges from February 18th to April 2nd. Often, people will give up things that they use in excess, such as sugary treats, alcohol, smoking, or cussing. Karnowski has settled on giving up the completion of 2-point shots.

“When I first heard of Lent, I didn’t know what to give up,” Karnowski commented. “I thought to [myself], what do I do a lot of? I score [lots] of 2-pointers. I am going to give that up maybe.”

Karnowski clarified that this will include all layups, dunks, hook shots, mid-range shots, and even consecutive free throws.

“I’ve been working on my 3’s with Coach [Few],” Karnowski went on to say. “I am confident in my abilities. Until Easter, I will not attempt any 2-point shots.”

Although most people look at the 7’1” 288-pound junior out of Torun, Poland, and doubt the player’s abilities from beyond the 3-point line, Karnowski boasts a perfect 100% completion rate for 3-point shots for the season, giving him the highest percentage on the team.

“People [are going to] call me the new Pangos,” Karnowski joked, referring to his teammate Kevin Pangos, a player known for his excellence in 3-point shots. “I will make it rain buckets.”

Karnowski isn’t the only Zag with ambitious goals for Lent. Connor Griffin has reportedly decided to give up slam-dunks, while Josh Perkins has decided to give up drinking food through a straw.

